• Reading Resources

    Reading and Book Lists

    Reading is one of the fundamentals of school.  When a child knows how to read and enjoy reading they become better students.  As the saying goes " The more you read the more you know."  

    Find a Good Book at these sites:

    Book Awards

    The Caldecott Medal is awarded annually for the most outstanding picture book for children in America.  The award is given to the illustrator in honor of the nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott.
    Books in our library are labeled with a red ribbon award on the spine representing the Caldecott Award.  They will be mainly located in the E (Everybody/Easy) section.
    Find out more at the American Library Association web site: Caldecott Medal
    The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.  
    Books in our library are labeled with a blue ribbon award on the spine representing the Newbery Award.  They will be located in the Fiction section. 
    Find out more about the Newberry Medal

    Maud Hart Lovelace

    Ms. Lovelace was a famous Minnesota author, born and raised in Mankato at the turn of the twentieth century. Maud loved reading and wrote stories from the time she was a child.  Her first poems were printed when she was ten.  By eighteen, she had sold her first story. Through her Betsy and Tacy Series, Ms. Lovelace has left a lasting history of Minnesota.  It is because of her creativity and enduring work that MYRA honors Maud Hart Lovelace through a children and young adult book award. 
    Every year MN students in 3rd - 8th grade read a selection of 12 books in their division.  In March they are given a chance to vote for their favorite book that they read.  In order for a student to vote they need to read at least three of the twelve books.  On April 25th Maud Hart Lovelace's birthday, the winner is announced.  The authors feel honored to receive this award because they know it comes from their readers, students from Minnesota in third through eighth grade.

    Visit the Maud Hart Lovelace website to see this year's nominees and winner.