Skyview Middle School

SchoolDistrict 622

Targeted Opportunities for Personal Success

 

TOPS are an offering of optional courses that are targeted to students in need of additional support.  TOPS courses are possible for qualifying students through funds available by the Minnesota Department of Education. Please consider taking advantage of this powerful opportunity for your child.
 
WHAT IS “TOPS”?
“TOPS” (Targeted Opportunities for Personal Success) was the acronym given to North St.Paul-Maplewood-Oakdale Targeted Services programming.
 
Targeted Services is part of the state ALC (Alternative Learning Center) funding designed for early intervention & prevention programming for students K-8 who are at risk of potentially needing ALC services during their 9-12 years or at risk of dropping out of school. (Minn. Stat. 124D.68)
 
The at-risk indicators determined by the MN Statute are:
• Is below one or more grade level(s) based on standardized tests
• Is behind peers in satisfactorily completing coursework
• Is pregnant or is a parent
• Has been assessed as chemically dependent
• Has been excluded or expelled
• Has been referred by a school district for being isolated, demonstrating low motivation, aggression or behavioral problems, has family issues, or for other reasons that puts child at risk of dropping out of school
• Is a victim of physical or sexual abuse
• Has experienced mental health problems
• Has experienced homelessness in the past 6 months
• Speaks English as a second language or has limited English proficiency (LEP) (Documentation of second language must in student's cumulative file)
Has withdrawn from school or has a higher than average level of absenteeism
• Is a sibling of or is being treated in a hospital for a life-threatening disease
 
 
2016-17
If you have any questions about any of the following courses being offered, please contact the following teachers:
 
- Minecraft: Kellie Kroc (kkroc@isd622.org) or Erica Schaps (eschaps@isd622.org)
- Cooking for a Cause: Jennifer Stoll (jstoll@isd622.org) or Katie Gropp (kgropp@isd622.org)
- Movie Critics: Amy Savino (asavino@isd622.org)
- Overcomers and Girls' Group: Emily Defenbaugh (edefenbaugh@isd622.org)
- Skyview Ambassadors (AVID members only): Jeanette Landin (jlandin@isd622.org)
 
**All instructors will be able to answer course-specific questions regarding activities and meeting dates. Important announcements regarding cancellations are also communicated on the morning announcements and during the after-school sessions previous to the cancellation. If there is an emergency cancellation, an announcement will be made during 6th hour.**
 
If you have any other questions that cannot be answered by the course instructors, please feel free to contact the Skyview Middle School Targeted Services Coordinator, Katie Gropp at kgropp@isd622.org or 651-702-8072.
 
 
CLOSE